.
PowerV vs the rest
From $10 drugstore serums to $305 luxury creams, here is exactly where PowerV sits, compared on the facts that matter: price, fragrance, retinol, actives, and who each one is really for.
The short answer: PowerV, The New Skincare, is a premium sensitive-skin serum at $89 for 30 mL. It sits between the drugstore tier (The Ordinary, CeraVe, La Roche-Posay, roughly $10 to $40) and the luxury tier (SkinCeuticals at $185, La Mer and Augustinus Bader at $265 to $305). It pairs two patented plant stem cells (PhytoCellTec Argan and MossCellTec No.1) with topical astaxanthin and a full barrier lipid complex, with no added fragrance, no retinol, and no harsh exfoliating acids. The positioning: luxury-grade biotech actives, at a fraction of luxury pricing, built for skin too sensitive for strong actives.
Facts here come from each brand's own published labels and pricing, reviewed in 2026. Brands reformulate and prices change, so please confirm current details on each product's page before buying. This is our honest view as PowerV's makers, not an independent lab test. Full sourcing and disclosures at the foot of the page.

The price ladder
Serums and anti-aging products span a huge range. Here is the real spread, and where $89 lands.
PowerV enters at the top of the premium band and just below the luxury tier, but carries the patented stem cell biotech usually found only at $185 to $305. Premium, not overpriced. Prices approximate, 2026, per standard size.
The full comparison table
Every serum compared on the facts that decide fit: price, fragrance, retinol, exfoliating acids, hero actives, and skin-type suitability. Facts only, verifiable on each brand's own label.
| Brand / product | PowerV | SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic | Augustinus Bader The Rich Cream | La Mer Crème | Drunk Elephant C-Firma | Paula's Choice C15 | La Roche-Posay Vit C | The Ordinary Vit C | CeraVe Serum |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approx. price | $89 / 30mL | $185 / 30mL | $305 / 50mL | $200+ / 30mL | ~$80 / 30mL | ~$70 / 20mL | ~$40 / 20mL | ~$10 / 30mL | ~$16 / 30mL |
| Tier | Premium | Prestige | Luxury | Luxury | Premium | Mid | Drugstore+ | Drugstore | Drugstore |
| Added fragrance | None | None | Contains fragrance | Contains fragrance | Contains fragrance | None | None | None | None |
| Retinol | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| Strong acids (vit C / AHA) | No | 15% L-ascorbic acid | No | No | 15% vitamin C | 15% vitamin C | 10% vitamin C | Vitamin C suspension | No |
| Hero actives | 2 patented plant stem cells + astaxanthin | Vit C + E + ferulic | TFC8 peptide complex | Miracle Broth | Vit C + ferulic | Vit C + peptides | Vit C + salicylic | Vit C + tocopherol | Ceramides + HA |
| Barrier lipids (ceramides) | 3 ceramides + cholesterol | No | Emollient base | Emollient base | No | No | No | No | 3 ceramides |
| Antioxidant | Astaxanthin | Vit C + E | Minor | Minor | Vit C | Vit C | Vit C | Vit C | No |
| Built for sensitive skin | Yes, patch tested | Can sting (low pH) | Generally gentle | Generally gentle | Can sting | Can sting | Can sting | Can sting | Yes |
| All-in-one (serum + barrier) | Yes | Antioxidant only | Moisturizer | Moisturizer | Antioxidant only | Antioxidant only | Antioxidant only | Antioxidant only | Barrier only |
| Vegan | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Independent DOI study | Yes, registered | Brand studies | Brand studies | Brand studies | Brand studies | Brand studies | Brand studies | None public | Brand studies |
All facts drawn from each brand's published label, INCI, and public pricing as of 2026. Prices vary by retailer and size. "Can sting" refers to the known characteristic of low-pH vitamin C and exfoliating acids on reactive skin, not a defect in any product.
What you pay for versus what you get
The luxury tier charges $185 to $305. PowerV carries comparable biotech, patented stem cells, at $89. Here is the value picture, by cost per patented active tier.
Only three products on this chart carry patented stem cell or signaling-molecule biotech: Augustinus Bader, and PowerV. PowerV delivers that class of active at roughly 29% of Bader's price. That is the whole positioning in one bar.
The drugstore tier is genuinely good value for what it is: single actives, no fragrance, low prices. But it is single-purpose, a vitamin C here, a ceramide serum there, and the vitamin C options often sting on reactive skin because they need a low, acidic pH to work.
The luxury tier delivers experience, patented complexes, and celebrity trust, at $185 to $305, often with added fragrance and usually as a moisturizer rather than a leave-on serum.
PowerV was built for the gap in the middle: the patented biotech and barrier science of the luxury shelf, the fragrance-free gentleness of the sensitive-skin drugstore shelf, and a single do-it-all format, at a premium price that stays under $100.
What others split, PowerV combines
Most routines need three separate products. Here is what that looks like, and how PowerV folds it into one.
Astaxanthin defends, two patented stem cells support the look of firmness, and a barrier lipid complex seals, in a single fragrance-free serum, instead of three separate products.
PowerV vs each brand, honestly
No trash talk. Each of these is a good product for the right person. Here is the real difference, and who each one actually suits.
PowerV vs Augustinus Bader
Both use patented biotech. One costs 3.4x more.
Augustinus Bader is the reference point for luxury stem cell skincare, built on its patented TFC8 signaling-molecule complex, developed from Professor Bader's wound-healing research. It is a genuinely plush moisturizer with a loyal celebrity following, and for dry, mature skin in cold climates, many reviewers find it worth the splurge.
The two real differences: it is a fragranced moisturizer, where PowerV is a fragrance-free serum, and it costs $305 for 50 mL, where PowerV is $89 for 30 mL. Both carry patented biotech actives, PowerV uses two patented plant stem cells plus astaxanthin; Bader uses TFC8. Independent reviewers note that peer-reviewed validation of TFC8 for cosmetic endpoints is limited, and much of the price reflects brand and celebrity status.
PowerV vs SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic
The antioxidant gold standard, but it can sting.
C E Ferulic is one of the most respected antioxidant serums ever made: 15% pure vitamin C, vitamin E, and ferulic acid, with real clinical backing for photoprotection and the appearance of fine lines. If your skin tolerates vitamin C, it is a benchmark product.
The catch is exactly what makes it work: pure L-ascorbic acid needs a low, acidic pH, which is why reactive and sensitive skin often finds it stings. PowerV's antioxidant is astaxanthin, which does not need a stingy low pH, and PowerV adds barrier lipids and stem cells that C E Ferulic does not contain. C E Ferulic is a single-purpose antioxidant serum at $185; PowerV is a do-it-all barrier serum at $89.
PowerV vs La Mer
Heritage luxury, fragranced, moisturizer-first.
La Mer built the modern luxury skincare category on its Miracle Broth and a powerful brand story. It is a beautiful, rich experience and a status product. It is also fragranced, animal-derived in parts, and priced well above $200.
PowerV competes on the actives-and-honesty axis rather than heritage: patented plant stem cells and astaxanthin instead of a proprietary broth, fragrance-free instead of scented, vegan, and a registered independent tolerance study rather than brand lore. It is a different philosophy, transparent biotech over mystique.
PowerV vs Drunk Elephant C-Firma
Similar price, very different design.
Drunk Elephant's C-Firma is a well-loved 15% vitamin C, ferulic acid, and antioxidant serum at a similar price to PowerV. It is a strong vitamin C option with a cult following and clean-ish positioning.
But it is a vitamin C serum, which means the same low-pH sting risk for sensitive skin, and it is scented with a light fragrance. PowerV, at nearly the same price, skips the fragrance and the acid entirely, uses astaxanthin as its antioxidant, and adds stem cells and barrier lipids C-Firma does not have.
PowerV vs Paula's Choice
Great value actives, single-purpose.
Paula's Choice is beloved for honest, effective, single-active formulas at fair prices, its C15 vitamin C and various serums are staples. It is a smart brand with strong science communication.
The difference is philosophy: Paula's Choice sells targeted single actives you assemble into a routine, so you may run several products. PowerV is one barrier-safe serum meant to replace that stack for people who want simplicity, and it uses gentle astaxanthin and stem cells rather than acids.
PowerV vs La Roche-Posay
Pharmacy-grade and sensitive-friendly, but single-purpose.
La Roche-Posay is a dermatologist-favorite pharmacy brand with excellent sensitive-skin credentials and a well-formulated 10% vitamin C serum around $40. For many reactive-skin users it is a trusted starting point.
Even here the vitamin C is acid-based and can sting some users, and each product targets one job. PowerV sits a tier up in price and actives: patented stem cells and astaxanthin, barrier lipids, and a single do-it-all format, for people who want more than a single-active pharmacy serum.
PowerV vs CeraVe
Both love your barrier. Only one adds antioxidant and firmness-support actives.
CeraVe is the barrier-repair icon: three ceramides plus hyaluronic acid, developed with dermatologists, fragrance-free, and remarkable value at around $16. For pure barrier support on a budget, it is hard to beat, and PowerV genuinely respects it.
The difference is scope. CeraVe is a barrier and hydration product, it does not contain antioxidants or firmness-support biotech. PowerV includes the same class of barrier lipids (three ceramides, cholesterol, phytosphingosine) and then adds astaxanthin and two patented stem cells for the look of firmness. It is barrier care plus antioxidant and firmness-support actives in one, at a premium price.
PowerV vs The Ordinary
Unbeatable on price. Built for the opposite user.
The Ordinary changed skincare by selling honest single ingredients at near-cost prices. A vitamin C or a peptide serum for around $10 is genuinely excellent value, and for experienced users who enjoy assembling a routine, it is unmatched.
But that is the whole design difference: The Ordinary hands you individual actives to combine yourself, and its vitamin C options carry the usual low-pH sting for sensitive skin. PowerV is the opposite philosophy, one gentle, pre-balanced, barrier-safe serum with premium patented actives, for people who do not want to formulate their own routine or risk irritation.
So who is PowerV actually for?
Pick PowerV if: your skin reacts to strong actives, vitamin C or retinol has stung or peeled you, you want luxury-grade patented biotech without the $300 price or the added fragrance, or you simply want one gentle barrier-safe serum instead of a five-product routine. It is premium, at $89, and built for sensitive, reactive, and mature skin that wants comfort and results in one gentle step.
Pick something else if: you want the absolute lowest price and enjoy building your own routine (The Ordinary), you need pure barrier repair on a budget (CeraVe), your skin loves vitamin C and you want the antioxidant benchmark (SkinCeuticals), or you want the luxury ritual and budget is no concern (Augustinus Bader, La Mer). Good skincare is about fit, and honesty about fit is how you know PowerV is worth trusting on the times it does fit.
PowerV vs the rest, answered
Is PowerV worth it compared to Augustinus Bader?+
Is PowerV a good alternative to SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic?+
Why is PowerV more expensive than The Ordinary or CeraVe?+
Is PowerV luxury skincare?+
What makes PowerV different from every other serum?+
Is PowerV good for sensitive skin compared to the others?+


Premium biotech.
Gentle formula. Under $100.
Luxury-grade actives without the luxury price or the fragrance. Built for skin that reacts to everything else.
How we sourced this comparison, and a note on doing your own homework.
Every fact in this comparison, prices, fragrance status, retinol content, active ingredients, and INCI, was drawn from each brand's own published product pages, ingredient labels, and publicly listed pricing as reviewed in 2026. We have done our best to be accurate and fair, but skincare brands reformulate their products, change their prices, and update their packaging regularly, and prices also vary by retailer, region, size, and promotion.
Please verify the current details yourself before purchasing any product, ours or anyone else's. Check the live product page and the physical label for the most up-to-date ingredients, price, and size. If you have sensitive skin, a specific condition, or any doubt about whether a product suits you, patch test first and consult a licensed dermatologist or healthcare professional. Nothing on this page is medical advice.
This comparison reflects our honest view as the makers of PowerV, so treat it as one informed perspective rather than an independent lab test, and weigh it alongside independent reviews and your own research.
Trademarks and affiliation. SkinCeuticals, The Ordinary, CeraVe, La Roche-Posay, Drunk Elephant, Paula's Choice, La Mer, Augustinus Bader, and all other brand and product names are the trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. PowerV is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by, or partnered with any of these brands. All brand names are used here only for accurate, descriptive comparison, which is a recognized fair use. No comparison here is intended to disparage any product; each is a good choice for the right person, and any characteristic described, such as the tendency of low-pH vitamin C or exfoliating acids to sting reactive skin, reflects the known general properties of those ingredient types rather than a defect in any specific product.
Product and health disclaimer. The New Skincare by PowerV is a cosmetic product intended to support the appearance and feel of skin. It is not a drug and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, prevent, heal, or reverse any disease, condition, or skin concern. Statements on this page describe cosmetic and appearance-related qualities only. Any ingredient information reflects published studies on those ingredients rather than the finished PowerV product, and individual results vary. PowerV's own tolerance testing refers to a third-party patch-test study and does not establish efficacy. Sensitive and reactive skin is highly individual, so always patch test any new product and stop use if irritation occurs.
Pricing. All prices are approximate, in US dollars, as of 2026, and shown for comparison only. They are not offers to sell any third-party product and may be out of date. Confirm current pricing on each brand's official channel.